1. Skip to content

The 8th Hinckley and Bosworth Sports Awards took place on Thursday 27th November 2014 at Bosworth Academy. This year the number and standard of nominations was higher then ever, the evening showcased the talent of our sportsmen and women, our outstanding schools, excellent volunteers and many many more. Yet again the awards attracted over 160 people, many who were nominated for an award, and were deserving of the recognition that they all received on the evening.

This year we were privileged to have special performances from Keelan Phillips on his BMX and Yoana Yankova who did a gymnastic rings performance, both of these were excellent and complemented the evening very well. We were fortunate to have Nat Jackson from BBC East Midlands to announce the winners and present the awards.

Thank you to Bosworth Academy for hosting the evening and to everyone that helped putting the evening together. Congratulations to all our nominees and winners on the evening.

Below is a list of all the winners from the evening:

Primary School of the Year: Barwell C of E Academy

Secondary School of the Year: Bosworth Academy

Active Lifestyle Award: Lynn Harris

Young Volunteer: Luke Wayne

Adult Volunteer: Callum Smith

Unsung Hero: Eric Thomas

Coach of the Year: Dave Edwards

Club of the Year: Hinckley Gymnastics Club

Junior Sportsperson of the Year: Nadia Hewins

Junior Disables Sportsperson of the Year: Izzy Dean

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year: Matthew Chilvers

Sportsperson of the Year Award: Joy Hirons

Lifetime Achievement: Richard Harris

Special Lifetime Achievement: Carol Whitaker